Goodbye, Sweet Dalek

Last August, my husband threw me a surprise birthday party. In case anyone wasn’t sure which party at the park was ours, he got me this in lieu of a birthday banner.

IMG_1075.jpgNo, your eyes aren’t deceiving you, my friend. That is in fact a 6 foot dalek cardboard cutout (side note: For those of you who don’t recognize daleks as one of the main villains from Doctor Who… I’m sorry. I’m so, so sorry.)

I love my life-sized dalek. We put him outside our front door. Delivery guys who knew what it was got huge tips. The UPS guys hid any packages behind it. Friends didn’t have to remember what apartment we were in. I even dressed up the dalek for holidays, because why would I make a wreath I found on Pinterest when I can do this!

IMG_1175.jpg

“THERE IS NO TRICK, YOU WILL BE EXTERMINATED”

IMG_1344.jpg

“I AM NOT IRISH. I AM DALEK”

IMG_1312.jpg

“YOU WILL DELARE YOUR LOVE. DECLARE. DECLARE!!!!”

IMG_1233.jpg

“ON THE FIRST DAY OF CHRISTMAS YOU WILL BE EXTERMINATED WITH BOUGHS OF HOLLY”

Alas, all good things come to an end. Today we got a call from the leasing office of our apartment complex. After nine months having it outside my door, the leasing office has decided we can no longer have the dalek outside.

I blame myself. I hadn’t dressed it up for Memorial Day yet, and honestly, Easter Dalek was pretty underwhelming.

Unfortunately, we have about 10 square feet of available space in our little apartment, keeping it inside isn’t really an option. (Side note: It also seems like it would be pretty traumatizing to walk into a dalek at 4am. Or to let it watch you sleep) So before we send our dalek to the garage tomorrow ….

 

 

IMG_0230.JPG

Pour one out for my homie

 

2 thoughts on “Goodbye, Sweet Dalek

    • It really does. I’m considering getting a bunch of little cardboard dick cutouts, gluing wings and googley eyes to them and taping them to the leasing office windows.

Leave a Reply

